The New York Yankees will celebrate the twenty-year anniversary of the 1996 World Championship team with a reunion ceremony on August 13. 

20 years ago this season, the New York Yankees took home the 23 World Series title in franchise history and it has just been announced that there will be a reunion ceremony prior to New York’s August 13 game against the Tampa Bay Rays.

According to Bryan Hoch of, the reunion will feature Derek Jeter, Andy Pettite, Mariano Rivera, Jorge Posada, Brian Boehringer, Wade Boggs, Jose Cardenal, Tony Cloninger, David Cone, Mariano Duncan, Cecil Fielder, Andy Fox, Joe Girardi, Doc Gooden, Charlie Hayes, Matt Howard, Pat Kelly, Jimmy Key, Jim Leyritz, Graeme Lloyd, Tino Martinez, Ramiro Mendoza, Gene Monahan, Jeff Nelson, Paul O’Neill, Dave Pavlas, Tim Raines, Willie Randolph, Darryl Strawberry, Joe Torre, John Wetteland and Bernie Williams.

In ’96, the Yankees won 92 games in the regular season, breezed through the Texas Rangers and Baltimore Orioles in the postseason, and took the World Series from the Atlanta Braves in six games. It was their first title since 1978.

The celebration of the team that kicked start a dynasty of four World Series wins will commence the day prior (August 12) when Yankees will give the first 15,000 fans in attendance a replica of the 1996 World Series trophy.

The celebration will take place before the game so fans are being told to arrive at their seats by noon in order to soak in the ceremony.

Following the big celebration, the nostalgia continues as the Yankees will unveil Mariano Rivera’s plaque in Monument Park the next day.

NEXT: New York Yankees Sign First-Round Draft Pick Blake Rutherford

H/T (