Greatest Postseason Moments In New York Yankees History

10. A Gift From The Crowd

In Game 1 of the 1996 American League Championship series, the Bombers found themselves down 4-3 as the game progressed into the bottom of the eighth.

With one out and Armando Benitez on the hill, Derek Jeter was able to tie the game up at four with a solo blast to right. He did, however, need a little help.

As the ball was descending from the Bronx sky, it seems as though O’s right fielder Tony Tarasco could have made the play if not for 12-year old Jeffery Maier.

Maier reached his hand out into the field of play and literally pulled the ball into the crowd. Umpire Rich Garcia ruled the play, which was clearly fan interference, a home run.

New York went on to win the game thanks to a Bernie Williams walk-off blast in the 11th in an eventual 4-1 series win.


  1. Great list! But certainly the Bucky Dent game in Boston (though not technically a post-season game) deserved more than just an honorable mention? I would put it easily at top 5 since it is one of the mos famous games in Yankee history – in fact, in *all* of baseball history.

    Game 7 of the 1952 World Series was played in Brooklyn, so Mantle’s game-wining home run was in the top of the 7th, not bottom of the 7th. Sorry, I didn’t say that to nitpick, but as an introduction to another suggestion: Game 3 of the 1964 World Series, when Mantle hit the game-winning walk-off homer, his record 16th World Series home run (breaking a record he shared with Babe Ruth). The Yankees did not win the World Series but that was certainly a highlight in Yankee postseason history.

    Another nominee: Game 4 of the 1996 World Series, when Yankees came back from a 6-0 deficit to win the game 8-6 and tie the Series with Atlanta. The highlight of the game: Jim Leyritz’s 3-run homer to tie the game at 6-6 in the top of the 8th. This game was so important as it paved the way for the Yankees to come back and win the Series (their first championship since 1978), and jump-started their 1996-2000 dynasty when they won 4 titles in 5 years.