New York Giants Eli Manning
(Photo by Abbie Parr/Getty Images)

On Monday the New York Giants announced their six captains for the 2018 season. Three of those captains are in their first year with the team.

The New York Giants announced that they will have six captains for the 2018 season. The captains are as follows:

Offense: Eli Manning and Nate Solder

Defense: Landon Collins and Alec Ogletree

Special Teams: Zak DeOssie and Michael Thomas

This will be the first time since 2014 that the Giants will have more than three team captains. Head coach Pat Shurmur spoke about the team captains on Monday.

“We feel good about the leadership of our team,” Shurmur said. “We feel like the players and coaches have chosen well, and we look forward to having these captains lead us through the 2018 season.”

Manning and DeOssie were obvious choices to be captains since this is Manning’s 12th consecutive season as captain and DeOssie’s eighth.

Many felt that Collins would be named a captain for the first time this season since he’s led the team in tackles in each of his three seasons in the league. Not to mention, last season he emerged as a vocal leader of the team.

The other three captains, Solder, Ogletree, and Thomas are all in their first season with Big Blue but have earned the respect of the coaches and their teammates.

Solder is the unquestioned leader on the offensive line, Ogletree will be in charge of making the majority of the calls on defense, and Thomas has shown that he’s an elite special teams player.

There were no surprises here and it looks like Shurmur chose a respected group to lead the team on Sundays.

Jason's first love was football while growing up in northern New Jersey. For the past three years, he has covered the New York Giants, as well as several boxing events along the East Coast.