New York Yankees: Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders Win Governors’ Cup (Video)

The New York Yankees’ Triple-A affiliate Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders have won the 2016 Governors’ Cup.

The New York Yankees have a top farm system in all of the MLB and they proved their worth tonight by winning the International League’s version of the World Series, the Governors’ Cup.

In a best of five series, the RailRiders made their mark and won the series three games to one, clinching the title on Friday by a score of 3-0.

Daniel Camarena gave the team five and a third shutout innings then passed the ball on to Johnny Barbato and Tyler Webb, who combined for two and two-thirds of an inning.

Giovanny Gallegos would then complete the save and end the season on a highest of notes.

Jake Cave would receive the honors of the Most Valuable Player of the series and as fate would have it, he would haul in the final out in the shape of a fly ball and begin the celebration.

This is the first time the RailRiders have won the Governors’ Cup since 2008 when the team included players like Melky Cabrera and Brett Gardner.

NEXT: Billy Butler Experiment Off To Excellent Start