Jacob deGrom
Al Bello/Getty Images

Jacob deGrom does it again. The New York Mets ace wins his second-straight National League Cy Young and joins some elite company.

It’s official, Jacob deGrom is a bad man. He was one of the bright spots in the New York Mets‘ disappointing 2019 season and his remarkable season ends with the National League Cy Young award.

It’s the second-straight Cy Young for deGrom. He joins Max Scherzer, Clayton Kershaw, Tim Lincecum, Randy Johnson, and Greg Maddux as the only NL pitchers to ever win consecutive Cy Youngs.

The right-hander pitched to a 2.43 ERA this season with a league-leading 255 strikeouts against just 44 walks. Despite deGrom failing to even come close to matching his ridiculous 1.70 ERA from 2018, his numbers were still impressive enough to garner 29 of 30 first-place votes.

Hyun-Jin Ryu of the Los Angeles Dodgers finished second in the voting and was the only pitcher to receive a first-place vote besides deGrom. Scherzer, Jack Flaherty, and Stephen Strasburg round out the top five vote-getters.

The Mets inked deGrom to a five-year, $137.5 million extension this past March. Had the two sides not reached an agreement, deGrom would have become an unrestricted free agent this winter.

Although the Mets finished fourth in the NL East in 2019, there’s some reason for optimism around the team. A new manager in Carlos Beltran is bringing energy to Flushing. Pete Alonso won Rookie of the Year and led all of baseball in home runs.

And to top it all off, deGrom is still one of the truly great pitchers in the game, currently on a Hall of Fame pace.

NY/NJ hoops reporter (NBA/NCAA) & sports betting writer for XL Media. Never had the makings of a varsity athlete.