Home NYC Teams New York Yankees

Greatest Postseason Moments In New York Yankees History

8. Richardson Saves The Day… And The 1962 World Series

It was the ninth inning in Game 7 of the 1962 World Series between the Yankees and Giants at Candlestick Park.

Up at the dish, was future Hall of Famer Willie McCovey with two outs and a runner second and third. On the mound was Ralph Terry and your classic “do-or-die” situation occurred.

McCovey, who had already hit a triple in the contest, rocketed a screaming line drive in the direction of second baseman Bobby Richardson.

If Richardson fails to catch it, the Giants walk off with the World Series title. If he snares it, New York would go on to win their 20th title in franchise history.

Well, he’s on the list, so guess what? Richardson made the play completing Terry’s shutout victory and helping the Yankees win back-to-back titles for the first time in 10 years.